< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 491 OF 491 ·
|Jun-16-13|| ||OhioChessFan: I read that story in the paper yesterday <WannaBe> and that little tidbit caught my attention. Amazing.|
|Jun-16-13|| ||perfidious: Here is an example of Carl Furillo, the master of right field at Ebbets Field, in full flower, as he throws out Mel Queen at first after an apparent single:|
|Jun-16-13|| ||Jim Bartle: First he hits a homer off him, then he throws him out at first from right field.|
|Jun-16-13|| ||technical draw: <First he hits a homer off him, then he throws him out at first from right field.>|
Then he said, "Happy Father's Day".
|Jun-17-13|| ||OhioChessFan: http://msn.foxsports.com/mlb/story/...|
I guess the headlines write themselves.
|Jun-17-13|| ||Phony Benoni: Ah, yes. The old 3-2-2 double play. Happens every day.|
|Jun-17-13|| ||Jim Bartle: When I saw 3 2 2 I assumed the catcher had somehow tagged two guys out at home. I've seen that a couple of times.|
But a catcher tagging two guys out at third? I bet that's never happened before.
I suspect the catcher saw the other runner heading for third, so he figured he'd just run his guy back to third and they'd get an out. But the runner expected a rundown and didn't hustle back and got tagged.
|Jun-17-13|| ||Jim Bartle: Was the runner tagged out going to third on second or first at the start of the play?|
|Jun-17-13|| ||Phony Benoni: The play-by-play said runners were on first and third before the play started.|
|Jun-17-13|| ||WannaBe: Max Scherzer for (All-Star) MVP and Cy Young.
(There, I just jinx'd him)
|Jun-18-13|| ||WannaBe: Test your knowledge:
Compare them to others:
|Jun-18-13|| ||Jim Bartle: I got 6/10. I thought a balk and catcher's interference ended the play (duh), that any player on a base was safe from being hit by a ball. And one other, can't remember.|
I did get batting out of order right, which is one of the most misunderstood rules. The other team has to appeal or nothing happens. But I'm still not sure if the opposing manager can appeal during the at-bat or only after he hit (or vice versa).
If a runner (not the batter) misses second base and is called out on appeal, that's a regular forceout.
I remember when Joe Carter hit the three-run homer to in the final game of the 93 Series 8-6, he said, "I had to be careful to touch all thr bases." But he didn't. He could have missed any base but first (I guess) and they still would have won 7-6. And the Phillies weren't going to appeal anyway.
|Jun-18-13|| ||OhioChessFan: Missed the balk, angry about it, knew and forgot the bunt/infield fly, missed the batting order, thought the hitting team had to maintain the same order once it wasn't challenged.|
|Jun-18-13|| ||Phony Benoni: Got 8. Missed #1 (runner out if on the base if hit by a batte ball) and #9 (manager returns to the mound). Really should have gotten the latter, because the reason given for a the answer sounded fishy.|
|Jun-18-13|| ||Jim Bartle: Here's a rule I don't know. A manager or coach has to take a pitcher out with the second visit to the mound. But after switching pitchers once, are two visits allowed for each pitcher or does each visit require a change?|
What about batting out of order? When must the opposing manager make the appeal? As the batter steps in? After one pitch? After he's batted?
I think he can appeal after the at-bat, so if for example the batter hit into a double play, the opposition can let that stand.
|Jun-18-13|| ||Phony Benoni: Aha! I think I got #9 right after all, and the Quiz Master had it wrong!|
Trips to the mound are governed by Rule 8.06:
a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning.
b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's automatic removal from the game.
c) The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but
d) If a pinch-hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may make a second visit to the mound, but must remove the pitcher from the game.
<A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.>
If you'll recall, in the scenario the manager had actually crossed the foul line. He could not make a second trip in that situation.
|Jun-18-13|| ||Phony Benoni: Batting out of turn is covered by rule 6.07:
"a) A batter shall be called out, on appeal, when he fails to bat in his proper turn, and another batter <completes a time at bat in his place.
"1) The proper hitter may take his place in the batter's box at any time before the improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and any balls and strikes shall be counted in the proper batter's time at bat.>
"b) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall
"1) declare the proper batter out, and
"2) nullify any advance made because of a ball batter by the improper batter or because of the improper batter's advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.
"NOTE: If a runner advances, while the improper batter is at bat, on a stolen base, balk, wild pitch or passed ball, such advance is legal.
"c) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and a pitch is made to the next batter of either team before an appeal is made, the improper batter thereby becomes the proper batter, and the results of his time at bat become legal.
"d) 1) When the proper batter is called out because he has failed to bat in turn, the next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of the proper batter thus called out;
"2) When an improper batter becomes a proper batter because no appeal is made before the next pitch, the next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of such legalized improper batter. The instant an improper batter's actions are legalized, the batting order picks up with the name following that of the legalized improper batter."
But getting back to the original question, a batter-out-of-turn can be appealed at any time before a pitch is made to the next hitter, but there can only be a penalty after the at-bat is over. Therefore, it is generally to the defensive's team advantage to let the at-bat take place.
|Jun-18-13|| ||Jim Bartle: I had to rule a couple of times on that when I was umpiring. Fortunately I carried a rulebook, because the opposing coach appealed too early every time.|
|Jun-19-13|| ||Shams: Question: why doesn't this happen more often in baseball? Is it because most pitchers are real liabilities in the outfield?|
|Jun-19-13|| ||Jim Bartle: It's not done often because you have to take another player out of the lineup, and usually replace him with a weaker player. Not always, but most of the time.|
|Jun-19-13|| ||Phony Benoni: <Shams> Another reason you are not likely to see that manuever in the American League is rule 6.10 (b) (8):|
<"Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a position on defense, such move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for that club for the remainder of the game.">
|Jun-19-13|| ||WannaBe: http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/9...|
The Padre's mascot is the "Swingin' Friar" (??)
Thought they are celibate.
|Jun-19-13|| ||perfidious: Matt Snyder on the Mets here:
<As our pal Andy Dufresne taught us, hope is a good thing. And in seeing Matt Harvey and Zack Wheeler both doing their thing on the same day, Mets fans were provided with copious amounts of hope for the future.>
Good thing there is something to look forward to if one is a Mets fan, because the recent past and present have largely been bleak, what with thing and another.
|Jun-19-13|| ||WannaBe: That D@ng hockey game is going OT, AGAIN!!|
|Jun-19-13|| ||Travis Bickle: Hey Phony, It's over!! Here's your Final: Blackhawks 6 bruins 5 OT! ; P|
Sound her off Ay?!
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 491 OF 491 ·